N.Y.S. Requirements For Accident Reporting



The operator or owner of a recreational vessel involved in a boating accident is required by law to report such accident when it results in a personal injury requiring treatment beyond first aid, loss of life, personal disappearance and/or damage in excess of $1,000.00 (one-thousand dollars). An accident involving personal injury, death or disappearance must be reported to the police immediately and to the New York State Office of Parks and Recreation within 48 hours. All other accidents must be reported within 5 days of the occurrence. Civilian reports can be mailed to OPRHP, Empire State Plaza, Agency Building 1, Albany, NY 12238

The New York State civilian report of a boating accident is available here for download:  Download Accident Report PDF File Here     

The Nassau County Police Marine Bureau is always ready to assist operators of vessels involved in recreational boating accidents. Nassau County Police Officers will respond to investigate the circumstances of the accident, provide necessary emergency medical service and transport any injured persons to an advanced life support facility. (See: "How And When To Call Us")



Website design and hosting provided by Twin Harbor Web Solutions, Inc.. Powered by Waypoint.